Blackboard Collaborate Ultra Instructions for Faculty

What is Blackboard Collaborate Ultra?

Blackboard Collaborate is a tool which is available in all courses in NU Learn. It allows instructors and moderators to conduct synchronous online sessions with their students. It includes audio, video, and text chatting capabilities. Instructors (and students if you permit them) can upload a PowerPoint file and each slide will be visible to everyone in the room. There’s also a Record feature that must be turned on and the session can be replayed at a later time for anyone who may have missed the live event.

Adding the Collaborate link to your course

Clicking on the Collaborate link in your course menu should display a screen as shown below –

After clicking on the Course Room icon or if there is a scheduled session link, you should see –

After clicking on Join Course Room, you should see –

AudioTest

Make sure your microphone is selected else click on the dropdown menu to select it.

While speaking into the microphone, you should see a meter displaying pink bars.

If your microphone is working, then you must click Yes – it’s working button else click on No – I need help.

VideoTest

Make sure your video CAM is working. You may need to click on the dropdown menu to select it.

Note: You do not need to use your video CAM during the Collaborate session. You may turn this feature ON and OFF as you like.

If this is your first time using Collaborate, then you may want to click on the Start Tutorial button.

Click on the menu in the upper right –

And you should see –

Note: You can use your phone for audio if your computer doesn’t have a microphone.

There’s another menu icon shown in the lower right –

There are icons displayed below for chatting, sharing content (if your instructor permits it) and settings.

Click on the X to close the menu.

If you have any questions, please send email to [email protected].