Record a meeting in Teams

Any Teams meeting or call can be recorded to capture audio, video, and screen sharing activity.

Notes:

Whiteboards and shared notes are not currently captured in meeting recordings.

When you view a meeting recording, you'll see no more than four peoples' video streams at once.

Important:

After the recording has stopped, it is processed (which could take a while) and saved to Microsoft Stream, and then it is ready to play.

The person who started the recording receives an email from Microsoft Stream when the recording is available. It also shows up in the meeting chat—or in the channel conversation if you’re meeting in a channel.

Adjuncts have to manually upload recordings to Microsoft Stream and do not receive emails when the recording becomes available.

Record a meeting or call

1. Start or join the meeting.

2. To start recording, go to the meeting controls and select More options More options button > Start recording.

Everyone in the meeting is notified that recording has started.

The meeting notification is also posted to the chat history.

Note: You can't make multiple recordings of the same meeting at the same time.

3. To stop recording, go to the meeting controls and select More options More options button > Stop recording.

a. The recording is then processed and saved to SharePoint if it was a channel meeting or OneDrive if it was any other type of meeting.

b. The meeting recording shows up in the meeting chat—or in the channel conversation, if you’re meeting in a channel. These links are available for seven days.

Note: For now, guests and external attendees can only view the recording if it's explicitly shared with them.

Who can start or stop a recording?

Type of user Can start recording? Can stop recording?
Meeting organizer
Yes
Yes
Person from same org
Yes
Yes
Person from another org or company
No
No
Guest
No
No
Anonymous
No
No

Students cannot start or stop recording.

Notes:

Recording continues even if the person who started the recording has left the meeting.

The recording stops automatically once everyone leaves the meeting.

If someone forgets to leave the meeting, the recording automatically ends after four hours.