Below are several ways to start sharing a file.
The common sharing icon in Microsoft:
Sharing Files and Folders
OneDrive enables users to securely share information and control levels of security via direct access or links for editing or viewing files. Folders can also be shared within OneDrive to enable access to a set of files or folders. This makes it extremely easy for users to collaborate on projects or finalize documents.
The options for sharing files and folders are very similar but there are a few options that are not available when sharing a folder. When sharing a folder you will not have the option to block downloads.
Sharing a File: Sharing a Folder:
OneDrive additional options
OneDrive users also have the option to restrict the level of access (anyone with the link, only people within your organization, only people with existing access to the file, or only individuals you specify). Also, if you opt to disable editing, you can also opt to prevent viewers from downloading the file.
Anyone gives access to anyone who receives this link, whether they receive it directly from you or forwarded from someone else. This may include people outside of your organization.
People in Neumann University gives anyone in your organization who has the link access to the file, whether they receive it directly from you or forwarded from someone else.
People with existing access can be used by people who already have access to the document or folder. It does not change the permissions on the item. Use this if you just want to send a link to somebody who already has access.
Specific people gives access only to the people you specify, although other people may already have access. If people forward the sharing invitation, only people who already have access to the item will be able to use the link.
Allow editing - When you share items with this type of link, people can edit files, can add files in a shared folder, and can delete files in a shared folder if they're signed in. Recipients can forward the link, change the list of people sharing the files or folder, and change permissions for recipients. If you're sharing a folder, people with Edit permissions can copy, move, edit, rename, share, and delete anything in the folder.
By default, Allow editing is turned on. If you want people to only view your files, uncheck the check box. This can be further restricted by selecting the option to Block download, which means they cannot save a local copy. For Word files, you can also select Open in review mode only to limit people to leaving comments and making suggestions in the file. Note that if someone already has editing permissions for the item, selecting Open in review mode only will not prevent them from making edits. For them, document will open in edit mode.