Teams Breakout Rooms

Important Notice: 
  • Check to see that you have the minimum version required to run this feature by selecting the avatar with your picture, then About > Version. On mobile, check to see that you have the minimum build required to run this feature by tapping Settings > About.
  • Minimum desktop app version: 1.3.00.24755
  • Minimum iOS build: 1.0.77.2020100603
  • Minimum Android build: 1.0.0.2020091301

Teams Meeting Setup

Utilizing the Microsoft Teams Breakout Room is a straightforward and intuitive process.

Step 1: Create a Teams meeting, using Blackboard, Teams Outlook Add-In, or the Teams Desktop Application. You must be the meeting organizer in order to create and manage breakout rooms.

Step 2: Join your meeting at its scheduled time and wait for your students/participants to join. Your meeting will open in its own window.

 

Creating the Breakout Rooms

Step 1: When the students/participants have joined the meeting and you are ready, click the breakout rooms icon from your meeting controls

Step 2: On the pop-up windows, choose how many rooms you would like to create using the drop-down menu.

Step 3: Choose whether you would like Teams to assign students to rooms Automatically or Manually if you’d prefer to assign students to rooms yourself. Finally click “Create Rooms”

 

Quick Tip: This is the only time you can choose to assign students automatically to rooms. You will not be able to choose this option later.

 

Assign Students/Participants to Breakout Rooms

If you chose Automatically, participants will already be assigned to different breakout rooms.

To manually add participants to rooms:

Step 1: Expand the list under “Assign participants”.

Step 2: Hover over student/participant names until check boxes appear. Choose students by selecting the check boxes.

Step 3: Select More options “ “ button and choose a room from the list.

Step 4: Repeat this process until all students have been assigned to rooms.

Quick Tip: To view the participants assigned to a Breakout Room, expand the arrow next to the room’s name.

 

Start breakout rooms, Join a breakout room, & Send an announcement to breakout rooms

 

Start breakout rooms

To start rooms individually:

Select More options “ … “button next to the room, then Open room.

To start rooms all at once:

Select Start rooms.

You’ll know rooms have successfully opened when their status changes to Open.

 

Join a breakout room

To join a room and check on in on its progress:

Select More options “ … ” button next to the room, then Join room.

Select Return when you’re ready to leave the Breakout Room and return to the main meeting.

 

Send an announcement to breakout rooms

Once breakout rooms have started, send announcements to give time updates or share prompts.

Select More options More options button > Make an announcement.

Type in your announcement and then select Send.

Students will receive a notification in their meeting chat to check for your announcement.

 

Close Breakout Rooms

To close rooms individually:

  • Select More options next to the room, then Close room.

To close rooms all at once:

  • Select Close rooms.

 

You’ll know rooms have successfully closed when their status changes to Closed.

  • Select Resume when everyone is back from their breakout rooms and you’re ready to meet as a larger group again.